Eight of the best… quilts and kantha blankets

It’s been so cold these last few weeks, I’ve found myself browsing the internet for extra warmth. My hunt has led me to some luscious cosy looking quilts, but what I’m really pining over is a Kantha blanket. These beautiful hand-stitched quilts are made by sewing layers of cloth, traditionally vintage saris, together and then stitching using a traditional, delicate “Kantha” stitch. As they are layered but lightweight, they are perfect for the transition from winter to spring. And super pretty and colourful too. Here are ten of the best patchwork quilts and kantha blankets.

Patchwork

Beci-Orpin-Quilt

The Beci Orpin patchwork quilt from Urban Outfitters (online only, £120) would really brighten up my bedroom, and my life.

24857914_095_b

I love the use of different colourful prints on this quilt from Anthropologie, £128.

il_570xN.277414945

It may just be this very cool kid that is making this quilt look awesome, but I don’t think so. Love the aztec prints and the parquet-esque design. From etsy shop, Thief & Bandit, $385.

Quilted

QLBLUTKTK

These adorable quilted blankets from Moochicbaby have been a permanent feature on my wish list ever since Finn was born. The prints are super cute! I have a soft spot for the Tuktuk, £39.99.

cache_448_448_2_quilt-ponylove2

Pony love? Love, love, love. The quilts from Auggie come in a variety of prints, and grown-up sizes too. The toddler size ones are $125.

quilt-melody-440x440

This quilt is pretty cosmic – or cosmically pretty! Available from visje bij de thee in baby blanket (€59.95) and single bed (€149.95) sizes.

Kantha

il_570xN.385410006_5a9r

This is a beautiful example of a classic kantha quilt – I love the faded antique quality. From etsy shop, jaisalmer handloom, $129.

And finally…

il_570xN.316574777

il_570xN.357170074_je7t

This one gets two pics, because it is The One. I love the colour, the print, the intricate stitching… everything. The perfect Kantha quilt from Gypsya etsy shop, $128. Hint, hint, friends and family 🙂

Leave a Reply

